MotoE race 2 at Misano: Ferrari wins the final race of the Energica era

MotoE gara 2 a Misano: Ferrari vince l'ultima gara dell'era Energica

The home hero Matteo Ferrari (FELO Gresini Racing MotoE) won the race 2 of MotoE at Misano, the last race of the Energica era.

The final FIM Enel MotoE World Cup race at the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli in Italy, wrap up an incredible, four-year journey by the Modena-based manufacturer within the MotoGP paddock. Despite yesterday’s title clinch by Dominique Aegerter, the second race still delivered an incredible show.

Ferrari arrived to the end coming out on top ahead of Pons Racing 40 team’s Mattia Casadei and Eric Granado (LCR E-Team).

Ferrari was tailing Casadei closely as the two riders entered the second half of the last lap when he decided to pull out a most audacious move for the win which started at the full speed “Curvone” corner and ended all the way down at the third right-hand bend of the “Carro” turn. It was a spectacular overtake that sent the crowd into a frenzy. Ferrari’s life was made a little easier earlier on in the same lap courtesy of Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt IntactGP), who lost a couple of places due to a small mistake while trying to reclaim the lead himself.

Casadei was not keen on giving up, however, and got on the inside of his rival at the last corner, a move that conversely prevented him opening the throttle early enough – and Ferrari took advantage of it and pipped him at the line. With the dust settling over the season, Matteo, the standard bearer of Gresini Racing – whose Energica Ego Corsa was sporting a superb-looking livery in honour of the late, great Fausto Gresini – managed to retain third place in the final standings over his fellow Italian opponent.

Third-placed Granado was also part of the five-way battle at the front, but unlike previous occasions he was unable to make a difference towards the end of the encounter.

Fourth position went to Aegerter, ahead of Jordi Torres (Pons Racing), Niccolò Canepa (WithU GRT RNF MotoE), Miquél Pons (LCR E-Team), Alex Escrig (Tech 3 E-Racing), Hikari Okubo (Avant Ajo MotoE) and Kevin Zannoni (Ongetta Sic58 Squadracorse), who completed the top ten.

Source: Energica Motor Company

Picture by

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.