The final count-down for MotoE title of the Energica era set to begin at Misano

Al via a Misano il conto alla rovescia finale per il titolo MotoE dell'era Energica

The final round of the 2022 FIM Enel MotoE World Cup – and the last chapter for Energica as the single manufacturer – is about to get underway at the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli in Italy.

The San Marino GP will host the final battle for the ultimate prize between two riders who have shared the spotlight since joining the revolutionary, electric-powered competition within MotoGP. However, no matter the wins, podiums and stellar performances achieved so far, both are yet to reign supreme as the final credits get ready to roll.

There can be only one winner, however, and this weekend, one’s joy will be the other’s disheartenment.

Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt IntactGP) arrives at Misano with a 17.5-point lead over Eric Granado (LCR E-Team), with two races left and 50 points still up for grabs. The Swiss rider leads 1-0 win-wise at this track, but Granado enters the final round with the greater momentum, having stepped atop the podium in the past three races (including the shortened race two at Assen that awarded only half points). With inclement weather forecast for the weekend, and with the usual unpredictability of MotoE encounters, anything can happen.

Al via a Misano il conto alla rovescia finale per il titolo MotoE dell'era EnergicaDespite the title fight being a two-rider affair, there are other combatants still aiming at the top three in the final standings. Despite a challenging Austrian round, Matteo Ferrari (FELO Gresini Racing MotoE) was able to hold third place, albeit with only a five-point margin on Miquél Pons (LCR E-Team), while Mattia Casadei (Pons Racing 40) sits fifth and 10.5 points in arrears.

For all the others, there are still two more chances to finish the season on a high. A podium or better would change the whole narrative of the campaign for many riders, especially if we consider that only two outside the top five in the standings have been on the podium so far this year. And both were able to do it only once: Hikari Okubo (Avant Ajo MotoE) and Niccolò Canepa (WithU GRT RNF MotoE).

MotoE proceedings will get underway tomorrow at 8:25 local time (GMT +2), with the two races scheduled at 16:25 on Saturday and at 15:30 on Sunday.

Source: Energica Motor Company

Picture by

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.