One two for the Jaguar at the Formula E Monaco E-Prix

Uno due Jaguar al Monaco E-Prix di Formula E
The Jaguar duo exiting the tunnel

One of the questions we asked ourselves at the start of the Formula E Monaco E-Prix was whether Jaguar would be able to react after its latest performances.

The answer came without leaving the slightest doubt with a round brace that crowned Mitch Evans, with Nick Cassidy immediately behind him; with the resurrected DS Penske in third and fourth, with Stoffel Vandoorne returning to the podium after winning the Formula E World Championship in season 7 and Jean Eric Vergne behind him.

Uno due Jaguar al Monaco E-Prix di Formula E
Stoffel Vandoorne, third at the end of the race, in front of the Monte Carlo Casino

Mitch Evans claimed victory in the 2024 Monaco E-Prix, breaking his streak of four prior misses where he led but didn’t win. Leading his Jaguar TCS Racing teammate Nick Cassidy, Evans executed the team’s strategy flawlessly, securing a dominant one-two finish for the British team. Their tactics, including strategic use of Attack Mode boosts, propelled Evans to his first Monaco win and Jaguar TCS Racing’s second one-two finish in Formula E.

Leading the charge alongside teammate Nick Cassidy, the Jaguar TCS Racing duo showcased strategic superiority as they surged to the front on Lap 11, overtaking their competitors, including Stoffel Vandoorne of DS Penske who had initially led the pack.

Evans’ adept use of Attack Mode allowed them to maintain a comfortable lead and navigate challenges such as an early Virtual Safety Car period caused by Edo Mortara’s incident at Swimming Pool.

As the race progressed, Evans relinquished the lead to Cassidy on Lap 14 while ensuring they maintained their position at the front of the pack. Evans reclaimed the lead on Lap 17, securing a well-deserved victory for both himself and Jaguar TCS Racing. DS Penske’s podium with Vandoorne marks a significant feat for the team in front of a home crowd.

With this victory, Evans bumps himself up to fifth in the drivers’ standing and solidifies his position as a championship frontrunner for Season 10, while Jaguar TCS Racing maintains its impressive lead in the Teams’ running.

Uno due Jaguar al Monaco E-Prix di Formula E
Norman Nato loses his front wings

Behind the top four, Pascal Wehrlein of TAG Heuer Porsche finished fifth, while Oliver Rowland of Nissan Formula E Team crossed the line sixth. Seventh place went to Antonio Felix da Costa of TAG Heuer Porsche, followed by Nissan’s Sacha Fenestraz of Nissan Formula E Team. Captain of consistency, Maximilian Günther of Maserati MSG Racing, took ninth place securing more points for the Monaco-based outfit, while Norman Nato of Andretti Formula E rounded out the top ten.

Mitch Evans, No. 9, Jaguar TCS Racing, said:

It feels mega, and a lot of relief to finally get that first win here. It feels like it should have come a few years earlier, but finally got it done today. Extra special as it’s my first win of the season as well here. Hopefully this is a turning point for me and I can start to consistently get big points. I’ve been chipping away at it but nothing too crazy so it’s come at a crucial time. It just feels amazing, and a massive team effort with Nick today to get a Jaguar 1-2 here in Monaco.

Uno due Jaguar al Monaco E-Prix di Formula E
Nick Cassidy

Nick Cassidy, No. 37, Jaguar TCS Racing, said:

It’s an unreal feeling, it’s been an epic day. Last year, we were 1-2 as well so it’s pretty cool actually that it’s the other way around, I’m really happy for him. We can be really proud of our effort today and it’s a great result for Jaguar TCS Racing.

Stoffel Vandoorne, No. 2, DS Penske, said:

It’s been a good day, but on the other hand, I’m also a little bit disappointed not to win because I think it was there to get today. I think in general it was a good day, we qualified well, we didn’t make any big mistakes, but you know, we lost the race as soon as both Jaguars were in the front and they started to play their games. We knew that was going to be the case, but I think the first part of the race we managed really well, to take the lead and to take control of the race is what I wanted to do, so that part was great. Ultimately with the second Attack Mode we lost to both Jaguars and then that was basically race done.

Next Formula E races at Tempelhof Airport, the Berlin E-Prix on May 11 and 12.

Below you can read and/or download the final classification of the race, the positions of the drivers’ championship and those of the manufacturers. (PDF)

049_Doc 49 – Race – final classification

050_Doc 50 – Driver Championship – R8 Monaco

051_Doc 51 – Team Championship – R8 Monaco

#MarceloPadin #theEMNteam

Fonte: Formula E

Foto Credits: BMF / Mitsuaki Futori

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.