Multi-year partnership between Extreme E and Mediaset

Extreme E Senegal

Extreme E signed a three-year partnership with broadcast giant Mediaset, to be screen live the off-road EV series across Italy from Season 1.

In addition to five two-hour live programmes, covering the spectacular on-stage sporting action from every round of its global Odyssey, Extreme E will be aired via a retrospective magazine-style show on Italia 1 and Channel 20.

The championship is all-ready to break the mold in motorsport as it embarks on a journey to formidable, remote locations damaged by climate change or human interference in January 2021.

The Himalayas, Greenland, Amazon, Saudi Arabia and Senegal will comprise the calendar, with the goal of shining a spotlight on the issues they face whilst encouraging the adoption of electric cars and promoting sustainability.

Ali Russell, Chief Marketing Officer at Extreme E, said:

It’s a massive result for us to sign a three-year deal with a leading-national broadcaster in Mediaset.

It’s a huge commitment which will see our revolutionary series receive top-tier coverage across millions of households in Italy, and yet more validation of what Extreme E is set to offer up for audiences worldwide.

Giorgio Giovetti, Head of Sports Rights Acquisition Department at Mediaset, said:

Following the television success of the Formula E championship, it is with great pleasure that we announce that Mediaset has also purchased the broadcasting rights to Extreme E for its first three seasons, starting from 2021. Working together with the Extreme E team on such an ambitious project is a challenge that Mediaset is relishing.

The news is the latest in a string of TV agreements, which include FOX Sports covering the United States, Canada and the Caribbean, FOX Sports Asia encompassing Southeast Asia ­– each covering Extreme E’s first three campaigns.

Season 1 starts January 2021 in Lac Rose, Senegal, before racing on via Al-ʿUla, Saudi Arabia; the Mustang Region of Nepal; Kangerlussuaq, Greenland; and Pará State in the Brazilian Amazon Rainforest. Four teams; Venturi, ABT, HWA and Veloce Racing are already confirmed, and major partnerships include Continental Tyres, CBMM and LuisaViaRoma.

An exciting range of top-tier drivers have committed to Extreme E’s Driver Programme, signalling their early interest in racing in this new series. Driver Programme signatories include; Sebastien Ogier; Andreas Bakkerud; Timmy and Kevin Hansen; Timo Scheider; Jamie Chadwick; Katherine Legge, Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky; Lucas di Grassi; Nelson Piquet Jr.; Andre Lotterer; Bruno Senna; Sacha Prost; Loïc Duval; Karun Chandhok; Billy Monger; Jerome d’Ambrosio; Daniel Abt; Antonio Felix da Costa; Oliver Turvey; Takuma Aoki; James Rossiter; Chris Ingram; Krisztián Szabó and Zoltán Bessenyey.

Further team, driver and partner announcements will be made in the coming months as anticipation for the inaugural season continues to build. 

Source: Extreme E

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.