Formula E. In the final lap, Maximilian Günther won the Santiago E-Prix

Santiago E-Prix Formula E

Maximilian Günther won the Formula E Santiago E-Prix after overtake in the last lap during a fierce battle with DS Techeetah’s Antonio Felix da Costa.

Completed the podium the Poleman Mitch Evans with Panasonic Jaguar Racing.

Santiago E-Prix Formula EIn the first laps of the race, Mitch Evans led the way followed by Mahindra Racing’s Pascal Wehrlein who passed BMW i Andretti Motorsport’s Max Guenther, in the initial part of the race.

Running clean for the opening laps, championship leader Sims came to a halt on track with a full-course yellow being called. After his car was retrieved, racing restarted with 37 minutes left on the clock.

Heading through Turn 10 and 11, Nissan e.dams’ Oliver Rowland made contact Envision Virgin Racing’s Sam Bird, damaging his front wing which broke away from the car. At the same time, Bird spun, loosing precious places and dropping to 19th.

Picking up ATTACK MODE, Max Günther advanced on Edoardo Mortara, using the extra power to blast past the Venturi driver and move into third. With Mortara in fourth and his teammate Felipe Massa in fifth, the two Venturi cars trailed the podium sitters, biding their time.

Heading into Turn 10 together, Massa was forced wide by his teammate, hitting the wall and dropping to seventh. Taking advantage of the situation, reigning champion and DS Techeetah driver Jean-Eric Vergne slipped past into fifth.

With 25 minutes left on the clock, Evans maintained the lead with Maximilian Günther now in second, Wehrlein in third. Still in ATTACK MODE, Guenther went for the lead slipping past Evans on the approach to Turn 9.

Despite starting from the back of the grid, Lucas di Grassi moved up into 12th, two places off his teammate Daniel Abt.

With 14 minutes of the race left, Wehrlein slowed allowing Vergne to pass into third as well as his teammate Antonio Felix da Costa who now sat behind him in fourth.

Santiago E-Prix Formula EWith the two DS Techeetah drivers in third and fourth, reigning champion Vergne’s front left tyre started rubbing on the wing, leaving a trail of smoke behind him. Regardless, Vergne continued – now in sixth – before the wing broke off. With just seven minutes to go, Vergne pulled into the pits with his damaged car leaving his teammate battling on track for the top step of the podium.

Making a break for second, Da Costa passed Poleman Evans on the long Turn 8, now hunting Günther for the win.

Holding out, Günther maintained the lead with less than three minutes left on the clock. With both cars coming into Turn 10 together, Da Costa forced the BMW driver wide, passing on the inside and into first. 

With less than a minute left, Günther was back on the attack as Da Costa led the way. Both with the same level of energy, Günther stormed past Da Costa going into Turn 9, regaining his hard-earned lead. Once around 10 and 11, the BMW driver clinched the win with Da Costa in second and Evans in third. 

By clicking on the following link you can see and/or download the official final classification (PDF)


By clicking on the following link you can see and/or download the drivers’ championship standings (PDF)

Drivers Championship

By clicking on the following link you can view and/or download the team championship standings (PDF)

Teams Championship

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.